California raise minimum wage

California is Raising the State’s Minimum Wage January 1, 2023

At present, state minimum wage in California is $15 per hour for companies with 26 or more employees and $14 per hour for companies with 25 or fewer employees.

On May 12, 2022, Governor Newsom announced that because inflation is projected to increase by 7.6% for the 2022 fiscal year, California’s minimum wage will increase to $15.50 per hour for all employees, regardless of employer size effective January 1, 2023.

With the minimum wage increasing to $15.50 in 2023, employers should be aware that it will affect the following employees:Read more

Covid regulations for businesses

COVID-19 Regulations For California Businesses Have Not All Gone Away – There is a 3rd Revision to Cal/OSHA’s Emergency Temporary Standards

Summary

The California Division of Occupational Safety and Health (Cal/OSHA) recently approved the third readoption of the COVID-19 Emergency Temporary Standards (the “new ETS”). The new ETS took effect on May 7, 2022, and will remain in effect until December 31, 2022, when Cal/OSHA is expected to replace it with a permanent standard. The majority of the new ETS has not changed. However, the new ETS includes changes in line with the state’s recent direction of relaxing restrictions, and is more aligned with California Department of Public Health (CDPH) guidance.Read more

arbitration agreements

Federal Law Now Limits Arbitration Agreements for Sexual Harassment/Sexual Assault Claims

A few months ago (10/13/21 Post), we discussed the status of arbitration agreements in California. We explained how, under California’s AB 51, employers are prohibited from requiring employees to sign, as a condition of employment, agreements requiring arbitration of claims under the Fair Employment and Housing Act (such as sexual harassment) or the California Labor Code (such as claims for wages). We explained that this legislation had been challenged as potentially preempted by the Federal Arbitration Act (“FAA”).Read more

isolation and quarantine

New State and Local Rules on Isolation and Quarantine

When an employee is diagnosed with COVID-19, the employee must follow the rules for “isolation,” while persons exposed to that employee must follow the rules for “quarantine.” The rules are imposed by state-level entities, namely, the California Department of Public Health (CDPH), governing residents of California, and Cal/OSHA (governing California employers), and by county-level entities such as the Los Angeles County Department of Public Health (governing residents of LA County). Employers must comply with the most stringent of these rules.Read more

california indoor mask mandate

Statewide Mask Mandate for All Indoor Public Settings

On December 13, 2021, the California Department of Public Health (“CDPH”) issued updated guidance requiring Californians to once again to wear masks indoors in “all indoor public settings,” regardless of vaccination status. The mandate will go into effect December 15, 2021, and will run through January 15, 2022.  Los Angeles County and several Bay Area counties already require masks in public settings, so this new mandate will mainly affect about 50% of the state population that lives in counties that currently don’t have their own mask mandate.Read more